東華醫院的綠色舊標誌立於明亮的入口旁邊。

我們的傳統及歷史

華人保健計劃 (CCHP) 是一個綜合醫療系統的一部分,其根源可追溯到1899年。從前來到三藩市的第一批華人不能使用三藩市機構所提供的服務。數十年來,醫院及學校都不對中國人開放。即使是在上世紀初的鼠疫爆發期間,全三藩市的衛生部門寧願將唐人街隔離,亦不開放醫院給受疾病折磨的中國人接受治療。當時唯一提供西醫治療的機構是一間由基督教傳教士開辦的西醫藥局 - 東華醫局。

1906年的大地震摧毀了東華醫局。日益增長的社區需求激勵了15間華埠機構聯手合作、籌集資金,為創辦醫院以取代藥房。在1925年,東華醫院終於落成。從此,華人無需再長途跋涉到三藩市總醫院求診。三藩市東華醫院更是全美第一間及唯一一間由華人開辦的醫院。即使美國的醫院傾向整合並且漸失自主及獨立性,東華醫院仍堅守以一個社區所有的機構繼續發展,為有需要的人提供服務。

上世紀80年代,管理型醫療成為推動醫療保健資金投入的動力。縱使華人社區不斷發展,但大多是經營小本生意的低收入人群。因此,保險公司認爲這些人無利可圖。

在東華醫院的幫助下,於1987年,華人保健計劃(CCHP)獲得了 諾克斯-基恩(Knox-Keene)經營許可證,為社區內的小企業提供可負擔的優質保險計劃。時至今日,CCHP直接與大型企業健康保險公司競爭,為個人及家庭、公司團體、投保加州及聯邦保健(Medicare)計劃提供優質的本地替代方案。CCHP已是擁有超過21,000名會員的保健計劃,並參與管理額外10,000名加州醫療輔助計劃(Medi-Cal),聯邦保健(Medicare)及公司團體的會員。(截至2018年的會員數據)

Old green Chinese Hospital sign next to the brightly painted entrance.

History

History

CCHP is part of an integrated delivery system with its roots in going back to 1899 when the first Chinese residents in San Francisco did not have access to the services provided by San Francisco institutions. Schools and hospitals were not open to the Chinese people for decades. Even during the bubonic plague outbreak at the turn of the century, the city’s health department quarantined Chinatown rather than open health facilities to afflicted Chinese. The only facility available that practiced western medicine was the Tung Wah Dispensary - founded in 1899 and staffed by Christian missionaries.

The dispensary was destroyed by the 1906 earthquake and was rebuilt. The growing needs of the community inspired 15 Chinese service organizations to join together and raise funds for a hospital to replace the dispensary. In 1925, Chinese Hospital was opened and gave the Chinese community a convenient option to the distant San Francisco General Hospital. The San Francisco Chinese Hospital is the first and only Chinese hospital in America. Even as hospitals in America have consolidated and grown less independent, Chinese Hospital continues thrive as a community-owned institution that serves the needs of those who need it.
 
During the 1980’s when managed care became a driving force on how health care was funded, the Chinese community continued to grow and many people held low income jobs working in small businesses - businesses that insurance companies did not find profitable to insure. 
 
With the help of Chinese Hospital, Chinese Community Health Plan (CCHP) obtained a Knox-Keene license in 1987 so it could offer quality, affordable health plans to the community.  Today, CCHP competes directly with large corporate health insurance companies offering a quality, local alternative for commercial and Medicare plans. CCHP has grown to over 21,000 members and is involved in administration of an addition of over 10,000 members in Medi-Cal, Medicare and commercial programs. (Membership data as of 2018.)